Columbus Day, which falls on the second Monday of October, is one of 10 federal holidays recognized by the U.S. government. 

This year, it falls on October 14. The day commemorates the arrival of Christopher Columbus to North America in October 1492. Many also see it as a time to celebrate Italian heritage. 

Columbus Day was first recognized as a U.S. federal holiday in the 1930s, but some states — Alaska, Hawaii and South Dakota — do not observe the holiday, which is widely controversial because of Columbus’ treatment of indigenous people.

South Dakota instead celebrates Native American Day and…

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *